Section IV All In; Chapter 13, Throw Down Your Staff

This is a good quote in this chapter: “Failure is the fertilizer that grows character.” I used to tell people if it was true that you learn from your mistakes I should be the smartest person on the planet. Please, I know I have just dashed all your images of me. Yes, it’s true. I have made a mistake before. Once. I thought I had made a mistake but I didn’t.

We can use mistakes for our good. Even Thomas Edison said, about inventing the light bulb, that he didn’t make any mistakes. He discovered over 2,00o ways not to make a light bulb.

Pastor Des Evans, retired pastor of Bethesda Community Church, used to say, “Failure is not Final In God, Failure is not Fatal in Grace.” I am glad that mistakes don’t disqualify us from God’s presence or future. Now, some blatant mistakes must be accounted for and there are times when restoration is necessary, but on a day-to-day basis, we are not discarded for our mistakes.

Moses made his share of mistakes. But, God put something simple in his hands that could be used for God’s glory. A staff. God asked him the question, “What is in your hands?” And God used it when Moses laid it down in obedience. So the question is asked of you, “What is in your hands?” What has God given you that you can give back to Him in obedience?

Leave a comment